As a Supervisor:

  1. E.A.P. Habets, S. Gannot, and I. Cohen, “Late reverberant spectral variance estimation based on a statistical model,” IEEE Signal Processing Letters, vol. 16, no. 9, pp. 770-773, Sep. 2009. The 2014 Signal Processing Society - Signal Processing Letters Best Paper Award.
  2. S. E. Chazan, S. Gannot, and J. Goldberger, “A phoneme-based pretraining approach for deep neural network with application to speech enhancement,” in International Workshop on Acoustic Signal Enhancement (IWAENC), Xi'an, China, Sep. 2016, best student paper award.
  3. D. Kounades-Bastian, L. Girin, X. Alameda-Pineda, S. Gannot, and R. P. Horaud, “A variational EM algorithm for the separation of moving sound sources,” in IEEE Workshop on Applications of Signal Processing to Audio and Acoustics (WASPAA), New Paltz, USA, Oct. 2015, best student paper award.
  4. Y. Dorfan, G. Hazan, and S. Gannot, “Multiple acoustic sources localization using distributed Expectation-Maximization algorithm,” in The 4th Joint Workshop on Hands-free Speech Communication and Microphone Arrays (HSCMA), Nancy, France, May 2014, best student paper award.
  5. Markovich-Golan, S. Gannot, and I. Cohen, “A weighted multichannel Wiener filter for multiple sources scenarios,” in The IEEE 27th Convention of IEEE Israel
    (IEEEI), Eilat, Israel, Nov. 2012, best student paper award.
  6. L. Ehrenberg, S. Gannot, A. Leshem, and E. Zehavi, ”Sensitivity analysis of MVDR and MPDR beamformers,” in The 26th Convention of IEEE Israel (IEEEI), Eilat,
    Israel, Nov. 2010, pp. 416-420, best student paper award.
  7. S. Markovich-Golan, S. Gannot, and I. Cohen, ”A reduced bandwidth binaural MVDR beamformer,” in The International Workshop on Acoustic Echo and Noise
    Control (IWAENC), Tel-Aviv, Israel, Aug. 2010, best student paper award.


  1. Bar-Ilan University Outstanding lecturer award for the year 2014.
  2. Bar-Ilan University Outstanding lecturer award for the year 2010.
  3. Tel-Aviv University, Faculty of Engineering, Outstanding teacher award for the year

As a Student:

  1. 1999 Excellency scholarship of the students Dean in Tel-Aviv University in memory of Okrein Eliezer and Marko Shaul.
  2. 1997-8 Intel-Dean award for Excellency.
  3. 1996 Wolf prize and scholarship for PhD students.
  4. 1983–1985 President of the Technion annual award for Excellency (3 times).

As an Industrial Researcher:

  1. The 1995 Israeli Defense Forces (IDF), General Staff, Head of Intelligence Branch, Creativity award in memory of Uzi Yairi.